Audit

Disclaimer: Instead of a likely controversial blog post this week, this post takes an audit form.  I analyse my work available on this site.

Essentially, posts surround the right to privacy – a right not expressed in the Constitution. Each post is composed after considering legal, political, normative, and empirical variables which shape the Civil Liberties (346) course.  All writings concern the uncertainty surrounding the Trump Administration and their stances on issues which affect the interpretation of a “right to privacy”.

After having reread my posts, I notice each and every one provides background, is opinionated and reflect on real Supreme Court decisions.  By doing so, I better understand the role of the Judiciary in securing some sense of a right to privacy while it is not necessarily guaranteed by the Constitution.  Further, it is also interesting to consider the different readings Supreme Court justices have in regards to this right.

Before enrolling in Civil Liberties and Constitutional Law (345), I thought the exact term “A right to privacy” existed as the Founding Fathers’ legacy in the Constitution.  I always wondered why there was uncertainty surrounding its interpretation and practice.  Now, I more than understand.  For example, in my recent post (A Figment of Imagination), I discuss the ways in which scholars understand and read the right to privacy, and contemplate whether or not U.S. citizens actually enjoy any inherent right.  Otherwise, it really is “a figment of imagination”.

Now, approaching the end of the semester, I am encouraged more than ever to offer critique concerning exactly what merits a constitutional right and/or civil liberty.  The very nature of these blog assignments enables me to discuss what I consider to be the most relevant outlooks and case reviews to explore different views and interpretations.  Over these past few weeks, I have gained a better understanding of the correlation between the Constitution, the Court, and the right to privacy.  So long as the content is relevant to the issue at hand (including body autonomy, NSA activity, etc.), I am able to write and reference any body of works which aids my understanding.

I enjoy these blogging assignments, especially because they encourage a different set of language skills and writing techniques which conventional assignments – essays, articles, etc. – do not.  Thus, I look forward to presenting my weekly submissions and hope they reach a wider audience.

Leave a Reply

